top of page


Ulster Schools’ Camogie Junior Medallion Shield final:

Loreto Coleraine 2-8 Assumption Grammar Ballynahinch 1-8

A goal direct from a free by midfielder, Connie McBride, gave Loreto Coleraine victory over a very determined Assumption Ballynahinch team to claim their first Ulster Schools' Junior Camogie Medallion Shield in 19 years at Quinn Park, Ballymena.

McBride’s shot for a point from wide on the right appeared to be going over the bar, but it dipped just below the crossbar at the last second, giving the Assumption goalkeeper no chance, and although the Ballynahinch girls battled to get an equalising goal, the Coleraine school held out for their first win in the competition since 2004.

Playing against a strong wind in the first half, Loreto made a great start when full forward Kerry Drain from Dunloy fired the ball to the Assumption net in the opening minute. To the Assumption girls' credit, they settled into the game and grew in confidence after this early setback, eventually getting on the scoreboard soon after a ninth minute point from Loreto's Emer Munro. Approaching half time, Assumption converted some excellent points and full forward Erin Daly pulled a ground shot to the Loreto net. Crucially, though, Loreto closed down in defence for the last few minutes of the opening half meaning that Assumption's 1-8 to 1-4 half-team lead wasn't unassailable for the Coleraine side.

Loreto had the wind behind their backs for the second half and their supporters were hopeful they would retake control of the game. Even though Loreto were dominant, their resistant Down opponents made them work hard for their scores. With only a few minutes remaining, Loreto eventually drew level with a great strike from Kate Healy. The Derry side missed a few chances to go in front, but with the possibility of extra time seeming ever more likely, they got the break they needed with Connie McBride’s goal from a free.

Loreto: E McKay, K Stockman, I O’Kane, E O’Connell, B Ferguson, L McQuillan (capt), C O’Connell, C McBride 1-2 (1-0f), K Healy 0-2, É Munro 0-1, T Mullan 0-1, T Passmore, K Davidson, K Drain 1-2, A Carlin.

Subs: C Mooney for E O’Connell (29), D Mullan for A Carlin (37), J McNeill for K Davidson (37).

Assumption: R Burns, K Clarke, E Douglas, A McLaughlin, S Rice, E McCabe, T Davidson, C McConnell, R Savage 0-1, Á O’Neill (capt) 0-3 (fs), A Gilmore 0-1, A McKay 0-2, L Braniff 0-1, E Daly 1-0, O Owens.

Subs: C Mulholland for T Davidson (29), D O’Shea for A McLaughlin (42), C Murray for R Savage (50).

Referee: Owen Elliott (Ballymena, All Saints).


bottom of page